A Conversation of Creativity

Sitting on a film set recently in the Soho design studio of Lafayette 148 New York, Barbara Gast, Chief Creative Officer, had her keen eye fixed on the production of a fashion documentary film series. With a slight laugh she declared, "I love my job, which is good because Im not able to do anything else!" However false that statement may be, after building a storied career steeped in the luxury market, shes certainly one of the best in the industry.

Her vision now drives every aspect of the Lafayette 148 New York brand, from store design, and advertising, to the expansion of product scope.She likens herself to an orchestra conductor, inspiring and guiding an international team of designers – a brilliant mix of cultures, backgrounds, and expertise –to find a new vision with every collection.

"We spend a great deal of time at the beginning of every season looking at the runways, looking at whats going on in the world. Its our job tointerpret and refine the trends for our customer. We understand the role fashion plays in their lives. We give them a modern edge – but with arelaxed sophistication."

And as a model emerges from hair and makeup, Barbara rises and starts to make adjustments – fixing lapels, adding accessories, and scrutinizing every detail. "Every-thing we do is part of creating a global image."

On set between takes, Creative Director, Emily Smith gathers her thoughts to share on camera. "I love working with Barbara. Weve been working togetherfor, I think, twelve years. She is such a wealth of knowledge and is such an incredibly creative person."

As cameras roll for another take, Emilys passion and enthusiasm for fashion is undeniable. "What I love most about designing this line is the finishing, thequality, and the level of love that we give to each piece. For me, the inside of the garment should be just as beautiful as the outside. Like back in the'50s – Doris Day would walk into a room and the print on the inside of her coat would complement the outside. We do that here!"

At Lafayette 148 New York, every step of the process happens under one roof. Its what makes us unique. Designers are able to work the details of theirideas from start to finish. Its a creative dream – they can experiment, innovate, and perfect their designs. Whether working with the beautiful nuances ofcraftsmanship or using the latest technologies, the design team delivers collections that not only redefines luxury, but also the industry.

Barbara and Emily share a love of architecture, which makes them the perfect team. For 20 years, this has been Lafayette 148 New York'sdesign inspiration - collections that embrace the spirit of this city and the sculptural lines of its best architecture.

Barbara, watching video playback on a monitor, points outside the loft windows and the city beyond, where new towers constantly redefine the citys ever-evolvingskyline. "Soho. Downtown. Its vibrant. Vital. Dynamic."Emily nods, "You walk the streets - theres energy. Excitement. Drama. Inspiration. Fashion. "

It's just before noon, and this is the third day in a row where shooting has begun at 6am. Taking a sip of espresso, Barbara savors the moment."No matter where we go in the world, we find inspiration in everything from architecture and art, to music and the people who are constantlyredefining it. For us, fashion is all about what's next."

THANK YOU FOR JOINING OUR NEWSLETTER!

论道创意

在取景自Lafayette 148 New York 的Soho设计室的视频里,首席创意官Barbara Gast专注地观看着时尚类纪录片。"我热爱我的工作,这对我是件好事。因为我除此之外我也做不了其他的了"她笑着说。然而,这也许是过谦的自述。沉浸于奢侈品行业,拥有传奇般的职业经历,她是这个行业最成功的人之一。

从店铺设计到广告宣传,再到产品线扩展,Barbara的愿景构建成为Lafayette 148 New York 品牌的每一个细节。她把自己比喻为管弦乐乐团指挥者,激励与指引国际设计师团队的密切合作——来自不同文化与背景的设计师,融合彼此专长,并每一季的设计中寻找到新的着力点。

"每一季设计的开端,我们花大量的时间研究秀场,寻找世界正在发生的一切精彩。为顾客提炼与阐述流行趋势是我们的职责。我们深知时尚在她们生活中扮演的角色。轻松打造优雅精致,是我们想要呈现给她们的摩登体验。"

当模特完成化妆与发型后,Barbara站起来着手调整造型,把翻领折得更熨帖,加上一件合适的配饰,每个细节力求完美。"我们所做的一切形成了品牌的全球形象。"

在拍摄间隙,创意总监Emily Smith 对着镜头分享了自己的想法:我喜欢同Barbara一起工作。我们已经合作12年了。她如同知识与智慧的合集,更是一个拥有惊人创作能量的人。

镜头调转另一场景,Emily对于时尚的热枕同样为人称赞。"在设计中我最爱的时刻是设计这根线条,看着它完工,看着它的质感。每一阶段我们都赋予了爱意。之于我,服饰的内在细节与它的外在一样华美惊艳,这有时候让我想起50年代的时尚偶像,Doris Day,她的优雅步履以及她同样钟爱内衬印花。"

在Lafayette 148 New York, 所有一切在同一个屋顶下完成。这赋予了我们独特性:从设计之初到成衣出品,设计师得以灌注细节的魅力。这是充满新奇想象的梦,他们不断试验,修改,直至诞生完美的设计。在顶级工艺造就的曼妙微差,或者最新技术带来的无限可能性中,设计团队交出的作品不但重新定义了奢华含义,更颠覆了行业的循规蹈矩。

拍摄从六点就开始,而此刻是在中午之前,这也是紧锣密鼓的拍摄活动的第三天。啜饮一口espresso,Barbara很享受这一刻,"不管我们去到世界的哪里,我们从建筑物和艺术中发现灵感,从音乐里以及人群里发现创意。对于我们,时尚关乎下一刻。"

感谢您订阅品牌资讯